BookEnds vision is a literate and philanthropic community and we can only build that in partnership with you!

Jane Seymour and BookEnds Board Chair Wrenn Chais
Roddy McDowell and BookEnds President Robin Keefe at Scrabble 2011.
Malcolm McDowell and BookEnds President Robin M. Keefe
Kevin McKidd enjoys some competitive Scrabble!
Kevin McKidd enjoys some competitive Scrabble!

Enjoying good food and good company.

Scrabble Challenge Co-Chairs PattiTanenbaum and Carol Zaslow
The 6th Annual Scrabble Challenge
was our most successful event ever!

Thank you to everyone who came, ate, shopped, played, volunteered and donated!  You are much appreciated! 
The proceeds from this event help BookEnds donate vital literacy resources to underserved children in our community. In the process we introduce kids to the power of service learning. Established in 1998, BookEnds has donated more than two and a half million books. With your help, BookEnds will collect and distribute over 200,000 books this year.

Our honorary host committee was chaired by Mayor Eric Garcetti and includes Governor Gray Davis (Ret.), Mayor Richard Riordan (Ret.) City Attorney Mike Feuer, Beverly Hills Mayor John Mirisch, Beverly Hills City Council Members Lili Bosse, Willie Brien, MD, Julian Gold MD, Nancy Krasne, BHUSD Superintendent Dr. Gary Woods, BHUSD Board of Education President, Noah Margo, BHUSD Board of Education Members Dr. Myra Demeter (Ret.), Brian Goldberg, PhD, Howard Goldstein Lewis Hall, Lisa Korbatov, Myra Lurie (Ret.), Jackie and Arthur Burdorf, Wendy Goldberg, Publisher/Editor Beverly Hills Weekly Josh Gross, Associate Publisher/Editor Beverly Hills Courier Marcia Hobbs, BHUSD Educator Rachelle Marcus, Michael K. Obeng MD, Children's Book Writers and Illustrators Executive Director Lin Oliver, and Los Angeles Public Library Commissioner Rita Walters.

Our Celebrity Committee was comprised of Amy Brenneman, Susana Dosamantes, Malcolm McDowell, Kevin McKidd, Pauley Perrette, Jane Seymour and Tavis Smiley

Platinum Word Master Benefactor 

Silver Word Master Benefactor 

Triple Word Plus Master Benefactor
Eleanor Bartman
Rocio and Ben Bonsall
Amy Johnson

Triple Word Master Benefactors

        Frances and Dorian Bilak, Naya Bloom and Drew Furedi, Lili and Jon Bosse, Wrenn and Bill Chais, Wendy and Leonard Goldberg, Debra Hammond, Robin Keefe, Michael J. Libow, Kelly Merryman, Jeff and Leanne Richardson, Ken and Laura Stovitz, Patti and Bob Tanenbaum, Brian Yacker, Carol and David Zaslow

Double Word Benefactors

Steven Jay Katzman, Sahara and Jordan Pynes, Jean Rosenblatt